WMU-Cooley Moot Court National Team Wins Regional Competition

WMU-Cooley Law School’s National Moot Court teams swept the writing division awards and won the oral portion during the New York Bar Association’s Moot Court Regional Competition, which was held Nov 16-18 at Cleveland-Marshall College of Law.


WMU-Cooley’s Auburn Hills campus team won Best Brief and Auburn Hills team member Troy Ayers won Best Oralist. The law school’s Grand Rapids campus team secured Best Brief Runner-up. Both WMU-Cooley teams bested teams from Ohio State University, Wayne State University, Case Western Reserve University, University of Dayton and Cleveland Marshall during the competition. The Auburn Hills team will advance to the national competition in New York City in January 2019.


Pictured (left-right) Professor Martha Moore, students Josh Bemis, Brandon Ayers and Lauren Simasko, and Professor Erika Breitfeld.


WMU-Cooley’s Auburn Hills team members include Troy Ayers, Josh Bemis, and Lauren Simasko. They are coached by professors Erika Breitfeld and Martha Moore.  The Grand Rapids team includes Erin Geschwendt, Jason Hodge and Matthew Williams and their coach, Professor Toree Randall.



Photo 1:

Nov 21 2018


WMU-Cooley Law School
300 South Capitol Avenue
Lansing, Michigan 48933 
(517) 371-5140

Click here for a full sitemap

Click here for ABA-required disclosures

Get Adobe Acrobat Reader
Get Adobe Acrobat Reader


Western Michigan University Thomas M. Cooley Law School is an independent, private, non-profit educational institution affiliated with Western Michigan University. As an independent institution, the Law School is solely responsible for its academic program. Accredited by the American Bar Association and the Higher Learning Commission. In corde hominem est anima legis.

Read non-discrimination policy


WMU Cooley Logo
In corde hominem est anima legis.

© 2019 WMU Cooley Law School