WMU-Cooley Law School 50th Anniversary Logo
WMU Cooley Header Staff and Faculty

Daniel M. Houlf


B.S., Western Illinois University
J.D., Northern Illinois University, College of Law
Retired, General Tax Counsel, General Motors Company

Professor Houlf is the current Director of the LL.M. program in taxation. An adjunct in the program since 2005, Professor Houlf teaches Tax Practice and Procedure, Federal Tax Accounting, State and Local Tax, and Accounting for Lawyers. He is a past recipient of WMU-Cooley’s Frederick J. Griffith III Adjunct Professor Award.

Professor Houlf graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree (Accounting) from Western Illinois University and received his Juris Doctor (J.D.) magna cum laude from Northern Illinois University College of Law. 

Professor Houlf has over 35 years of practical tax and accounting experience. Prior to law school, Professor Houlf worked as a licensed certified public accountant in Illinois. After law school, he served as a Trial Attorney with the Tax Division, U.S. Department of Justice, and later worked as a tax attorney at a large law firm in Detroit. Most recently, Professor Houlf was General Tax Counsel for General Motors Company, retiring in 2019.   

Active in the State Bar of Michigan’s Taxation Section, Professor Houlf previously served on Tax Council, the governing body of the Taxation Section of the State Bar of Michigan. In 2020, he received the Taxation Section’s L. Hart Wright Award for his contributions to the Taxation Section and tax community in Michigan. He has been a frequent speaker at tax conferences for both the Taxation Section and the Michigan Association of Certified Public Accountants.  


  • Tax Credits Available under the Michigan Business Tax, Wayne Law Review, Vol. 53, Issue 4 (Winter 2007); 53 Wayne L. Rev. 1329 (2007) (Co-author).
  • Facilitating a Historic Reorganization for the Common Good in Perilous Times, Chapter in Lawyers as Economic Drivers – The Business Case for Legal Services (ed., Miller, Nelson, Robb, James D., and John D. Crane) (2012).